Sam Bader

  • Argonne Distinguished Fellow
  • Bldg. 223, A-201
  • Phone: 630-252-4960
  • This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Quick Links


  • Ph.D. Chemistry, University of California, Berkeley – 1974
  • B.S. Chemistry, University of California, Berkeley - 1967


  • Sam Bader is an Argonne Distinguished Fellow, emeritus as of 2014. He is also Chief Scientist emeritus for Argonne’s Center for Nanoscale Materials. He served as Magnetic Films Group Leader for over a quarter century, and Associate Director of Argonne's Materials Science Division for over a decade. In graduate school he worked on f-electron magnetic and superconducting systems at low temperatures. His recent research interests included creating novel hybrid permanent magnets, and exploring laterally confined nanomagnets in order to develop magnetic electronics and bio-inspired, self assembled magnetic nanostructures. He has coauthored 380 papers listed on the Web of Science with 16,000 citations and an h-index of 68 (21,000 citations and h=80 on Google Scholar). He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society (APS) and of the American Vacuum Society (AVS). His honors include a U.S. DOE – BES (Department of Energy-Basic Energy Sciences) Award for Outstanding Achievement in Solid State Physics, the AVS Thornton Memorial Award, cited for "seminal contributions to the atomic-level understanding of surface and thin film magnetism" and the APS David Adler Lectureship Award, cited "for spirited lectures, writing and experimental research in the area of nanomagnetism, magnetic films, multilayers and surfaces of metallic systems, including championing the surface magneto-optic Kerr effect approach." He was Chair of the APS Division of Condensed Matter in 2011-2012, and Chair of its Division of Materials Physics in 2004-2005. He chaired the Scientific Advisory Committee of the Advanced Light Source synchrotron in Berkeley, California from 2003-2006. He was a member of the physics decadal study committee in Condensed Matter and Materials Physics (CMMP2010) of the National Research Council. He was a Vice President of the IUPAP (International Union of Pure and Applied Physics) and chair of its Commission on Structure and Dynamics in Condensed Matter from 2009-2011; he also chaired the U.S. Liaison Committee of IUPAP in 2010 and 2011. He is an Associate Editor of Applied Physics Letters and Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Magnetism and Magnetic Materials.