Argonne National Laboratory

Materials Science Division

Argonne Home > MSD > Personnel

Samuel D. Bader

Associate Division Director and Group Leader

Materials Science Division; Bldg. 223
Argonne National Laboratory
9700 South Cass Ave.
Argonne, IL 60439

phone: 630-252-4960
fax: 630-252-5219

Sam Bader received a B.S. in 1967 and Ph.D. in 1974 from the University of California, Berkeley. He then joined Argonne's superconductivity group, and in 1977 became a staff member specializing in surface science and thin-film magnetism. He is a Senior Physicist and Group Leader of the Magnetic Films Group and an Associate Division Director of Argonne's Materials Science Division.  Presently, he also serves as Scientific Director of Argonne’s new Center for Nanoscale Materials He is co-author of over 300 publications and appeared in the ISI 1981-97 "most cited physicists" listing. He is a Fellow of the AVS and the American Physical Society. In 1992 he was co-recipient of the DOE-Basic Energy Sciences Award for Outstanding Achievement in Solid State Physics for work on coupled magnetic layers. In 1994 he received the University of Chicago Award for Distinguished Performance at Argonne. In 2001 he received the AVS John A. Thornton Memorial Award, cited for "seminal contributions to the atomic-level understanding of surface and thin film magnetism." In 2002 he was made an Adjunct Professor of the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, and a Senior Fellow of the University of Chicago-Argonne Consortium for Nanoscience Research. He is an editor of the Journal of Magnetism and Magnetic Materials and an associate editor of Applied Physics Letters. He is chair of the Scientific Advisory Committee of the Advanced Light Source (ALS) at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, and he serves on the Advisory Board of the NSF-sponsored National Nanotechnology Infrastructure Network. He is the U.S. representative and Secretary of IUPAP Commission 10 on Structure and Dynamics in Condensed Matter, and is a member of the decadal study committee in Condensed Matter and Materials Physics (CMMP 2010) of the National Research Council. He was chair of the Division of Materials Physics of the American Physical Society in 2004-2005, and served as a founding member of the AVS Magnetic Interfaces and Nanostructures Division.

He is known for his work in magnetic surfaces, films, wedges and superlattices, including hybrid structures, such as novel ferromagnetic-superconducting multilayers. He has been active in the field of giant magnetoresistance and exchange-coupled magnetic multilayers, and in the field of colossal magnetoresistance in naturally layered manganites. He introduced the now popular approach dubbed the surface magneto-optic Kerr effect (SMOKE) that helped open the field of surface magnetism. His current interests include utilizing nanotechnology to create novel permanent magnets, known as spring magnets, and to explore laterally confined nanomagnets. He is interested in the development of magnetic electronics and the bio-inspired self-assembly of magnetic nanostructures.

UChicago Argonne LLC
Privacy & Security Notice | Contact Us | Site Map |